Applications now open for GEJ Scholarships

We are thrilled to announce that applications are now open for CRS alumni pursuing their undergraduate or graduate education. Being part of the Camp Rising Sun community enriches us far beyond our experiences as campers, counselors and family members and LAJF wants to support our student alumni in their pursuit of Higher Education.

We encourage all alumni to apply before the deadline of May 31st.  You can learn more and apply here.

2016 recipients shared the following about being awarded scholarship: 

Rising Sun opened new doors in my life, doors to a variety of truths about people, cultures and religions. As a member of a PhD community, and as a TA of undergraduate students at UCLA, I always try to teach and learn from others. That is a value that I learned at CRS and that I try to instill on a daily basis.

Lucrecia Mena, CRS 2008 – UCLA – PhD in Sociology


“Receiving a scholarship from LAJF not only means help for funding my education; the award shows the continued support I have from my incredible community. It is a simple reminder of how lucky I am to be an alumna of CRS and how thankful I am.”

Mina Hirsch – CRS 2005-’06,’10-’11 - Arizona State University-




"Chairing this Committee for the past five years has been a great honor.  Now, almost 60 years after my own CRS experience, I continue to see the significant, long lasting, and deeply satisfying impact that CRS had on me, and this is a great opportunity both to give back and to facilitate the paths forward for at least a few alumni each year.  The Committee is first rate, made up of members who bring energy, intelligence and integrity to our work, and who reach consensus decisions without rancor.  We’re always taken with the impressive commitments and leadership shown by the GEJ Scholarship applicants in the years between their camp attendance and their applications, and the ambitious expectations they hold for themselves when applying.  We’d love to receive your application!"

David Levine (CRS 1958-'59) - GEJ Scholarship Committee Chair

The GEJ Scholarship exists thanks to the generosity of the Georges Lurcy Trust and CRS alumni and friends. It would also not be possible without the commitment and passion of the GEJ Scholarship Committee members. The committee, chaired by David Levine ('58-'59), includes Eli Bromberg ('96), Inna Kuvich (01-’02,’06), Alexandra Pleier ('01) and John M Reilly ('97-‘98). We would also like to recognize the work done by Michael Engber (57-’58, '04) who completed his service to the Committee with the 2015/16 cycle for his outstanding work.